Cambodian scarves

8 August 2008 at 8:39 pm (Fabric collection, Uncategorized) (, )

This is probably going to be the last of my Cambodia-related posts. Sorry if you are starting to get bored of the subject, but I’m still over the moon about my trip, so please bear with me for one more post. 🙂

These scarves are called krama, and I saw a couple of ladies in Siem Reap wearing them on their heads. The most common design is a checkered one, and I saw red and blue ones on sale in the markets. I didn’t buy any even though I wanted to, because it looked like something I would be able to get back home (albeit not in such a light cotton; the ones back home I’ve seen are slightly heavier. Back in secondary school, the apron I used for home ec class was made out of the same red checkered cloth!)

The ones that I did decide to buy are pretty sweet, and I bought them meaning to give them away as gifts. I did toy with the idea of using them in my craft somehow, but I’m not sure what I could make out of such lightweight cotton. I’m sure if I put my mind to it, I’ll come up with something! 🙂

(To my millions of fans out there: sorry for the silence. Dog dramas abound…. And this blog is not the place for the stories, so please enjoy the scarves instead. :))

4 Comments

  1. ryno said,

    KRAMAS!!!!!! we like your blog.

  2. wanda said,

    may I know the price??

  3. wanda said,

    I interest, but how much is that?? (like on the picture)

  4. cambodianmarket said,

    i know where you can buy some if the blogger isn’t sellling them. check out my blog cambodianmarket.wordpress.com

    thanks!

Leave a comment