I made that?! Woohoo!

11 August 2008 at 4:13 pm (Crafted!) ()

My first handmade top!

My first handmade top!

Omigosh! I can’t believe I actually made something I can wear! This was my first ever attempt at making clothes. Trust me when I say I totally winged it when I decided to make this top. I didn’t use any patterns and I didn’t make any measurements because I wouldn’t know how to use them anyway!

I took a shortcut instead: I just used another top that I had to give myself an idea of how much cloth to cut. Easy! Of course, I had to make some improvisations along the way, and I actually ended up with a smaller top than I intended, but it must have been my lucky day because I can still get into it! Hooray!

Those with an eye for detail will notice the rather wonky hems…. :/ It’s hard to sew hems using a vintage (manual) sewing machine because I have to manually fold in the seams, hold them fast, let go of one hand (to start the machine) and hope my folds stay folded. Sometimes they unfurl themselves anyway and make a mess of things. Grr! But I figure this is my first try, so I won’t be too hard on myself.

It’s actually something really simple to make (if I can do it, you can too). You only have to cut 5 pieces of fabric to do it! So, I wrote some notes down when making the top for future reference, and I will share it on this blog when I’ve put the steps down in proper order! Shouldn’t take me too long, I reckon; I enjoy recording these things. It’s got something to do with my passion of putting pen to paper. I love stationery and it’s always nice to use them and say it’s “for work” (for otherwise my many, many pens would just be frivolous purchases). Tee hee.

2 Comments

  1. Selvi said,

    eyyy so nice la!!! really like the shoulder straps and giant bow detail!!! Not bad ah, you can wing it & get something so cun haha!

    and ditto on the stationery … you shd see my penS & pencilS holderS in the office! 🙂

  2. honeyanddaisy said,

    Thanks!! I think I have to fix the wonky hems la, otherwise it’s really an eyesore! But anyway I’m as surprised as you are that I managed to make this. Haha!

Leave a Reply

