Shoulder bag. I like!

14 August 2008 at 5:28 pm (Crafted!) (, )

Okay, so it turned out to be harder to write down my notes in a way that someone else would understand. My drawing is not the best! Maybe I should take photos next time instead. In any case, worry not, I shall keep trying. When it’s presentable, I’ll post it up, promise!

In between huffing and puffing with my sewing notes, I decided to rustle up a little bag for a friend’s birthday present. She wanted a bag just like this one (click here to see), and I was going to make one just like that, until I actually used it for my daily carting-around of things. Not the best shape for a soft bag, because if you placed it in your lap while sitting in a restaurant, or while waiting for a train, your things might fall out. I think it was meant more as an shopping bag than a carting-around bag.

Carting-around bag in Japanese cotton

Good carting-around shoulder bag

So anyway, I made this instead. I actually copied this off a bag I bought many years ago (hee hee). It’s a tried-and-true shape that I really like — it’s spacious and secure. Harder for pick-pockets to get at your stuff, as it fits nicely under the arm. (Things like that needs to be taken into consideration here in this city, unfortunately). I’m still struggling with sewing curves, as you can probably tell from the photo. Hmm.

I especially like the fabric because it’ll give a pop of colour to any outfit on days when you don’t feel so hot, and you know how on days like that, you just somehow pick the dullest things to wear.

Yay for cute shoulder bags!

2 Comments

  1. Miss 376 said,

    The bag looks great, lovely colours

  2. honeyanddaisy said,

    Thanks for saying that; I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

