One can never be too pink

18 August 2008 at 5:43 pm (Crafted!) (, )

Pink top with brown piping

I love completed projects! And I’m quite delighted with the way this one turned out. The pattern for this top is from a Japanese sewing book on hand-sewn clothing projects. I think it would have taken me weeks if I were to hand-sew everything, so thank goodness for sewing machines! On a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being the most difficult), I would say this was around a 3.

I did have to make some minor alterations to the pattern, because although this was supposed to be a small, it turned out with arm holes that were too large. Because the pattern doesn’t use a zipper, I think they made the body slightly larger as well. I slimmed it down slightly — fully knowing that I will now have to squeeze into the top carefully else I’ll probably rip the seams. This is where zippers would come in handy, I suppose!

The book teaches you to make bias tape out of the same fabric you’re using to make the top, but I thought that was simply too tedious. I didn’t have a bias-tape-making contraption anyway — and the only reason I know such a thing exists is because there’s a picture of the thing in the book! So I used some bias tape that I already had lurking around in my sewing box. If I may say so, I think the brown piping sets off the pink fabric very well. But maybe that’s just me being biased (hehe!). See, buying things when you don’t need them (yet) comes in handy after all!

So I’m pleased with this top because it’s breezy, comfy and dries in a jiffy!

2 Comments

  1. Miss 376 said,

    I think you have done really well, feel sure anything I made to wear would fall apart the first time I put it on

  2. Selvi said,

    groooovy!!!

    now all you need to go with it is my pink hat haha!

Leave a Reply

