Crochet me a beauty

2 September 2008 at 4:10 pm (Crafted!, Thoughts) ()

Little grey flower
Little grey flower

Since I started sewing up a storm, I haven’t touched my crochet hooks. The past weekend, I had this sudden urge to crochet something — anything! So, crocheted flowers it was. I love crocheted flowers because they’re so quick and easy to make. I’m not the quickest crocheter out there, and like most people, I enjoy instant gratification!

It never occurred to me to leave long tails on a simple flower, and I really liked the effect. I’ve been itching to sew a black bag for a while now, but I’ve put it off because I couldn’t decide what shape I wanted it to be, and what embellishments to use. I love how this grey flower pops on black fabric, so I’m looking forward to using it.

Which leaves me with: what bag? I’ve been wanting to do one with interfacing (which I’ve yet to try), so that it holds its shape standing on its own. Hmm….

2 Comments

  1. Judy said,

    Hi – thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving me a comment. The grey flower is lovely and simple – just what’s needed to make it pop against the black. I have just bought myself a book to try to teach myself to crochet but so far have not remembered to buy a hook when I am somewhere I can get one – so I am not getting very far! This flower looks like something I could try for a first project, though. I like the tails – it makes it look like it is going to float away like a balloon. ;o)

  2. mom2fur said,

    I like the little flower, and the tails, too! Kind of makes it look like a shooting star. It looks great on the black, but I think it would look nice on a pink background, too!

Leave a Reply

