The Huffing & Puffington Post: Blouse update

18 September 2008 at 1:57 pm (Thoughts) (, )

Blouse in progress

Blouse in progress ... the biggest challenge yet

There’s been quite a bit of huffing & puffing at the sewing machine the past couple of days. This collar & sleeve ensemble is a little tricky. Not impossibly tricky, but tricky nonetheless. The sleeves have gathers, and it’s my first time trying to sew gathers into something, so it was a bit intimidating. It was one of those days I wished I had a modern sewing machine with all the fancy accoutrements (like a ruffler foot!).

The seam ripper came into action a few times, but each time it was entirely my own fault. See the sleeve that’s already attached to the blouse? That was wrong side out the first time. I guess it was also when I was already getting tired, so after I finished doing that sleeve, I decided the other sleeve would have to wait for another day.

It took me a while to psych myself up to start on this blouse. At first, I thought it would surely be a total failure. I wasn’t sure what to expect. But as I progressed, it started looking more & more like a proper piece of clothing, and I’m starting to feel encouraged again. Hopefully, I’ll be finished with it by this weekend. I have a few other projects floating around in my head, and would like to do something a little easier for a change.

“For the 80th time, I wish I had a serger!” laments the amateur seamstress. “I’m sure I would be able to sew much better collared blouses then!”

And the drama continues….

Leave a Reply

