Sweetsville, here we come

22 September 2008 at 4:14 pm (Crafted!) ()

My very first blouse!

My very first blouse!

To be honest, I’m a little surprised that I finished this blouse as quickly as I did. In fact, somewhere halfway between the gathering of the sleeves and the sewing on of the collar, I thought I might not finish this blouse at all. All said and done, I took about 4 days in total to finish this project (not including the cutting!). I really took my own sweet time with this, sitting down with it for only an hour or two each time. I figured that if I took it at a leisurely pace, sewing this would seem more like a reward than a task.

Okay, having that said, I have to confess that I haven’t sewed the buttons on yet. I haven’t quite decided how I want to do the buttonholes.

  • Option A: Go in search of a sewing machine that will sew the buttonholes in less than 5 minutes.
  • Option B: Go haute couture and sew them by hand.

I’m leaning towards Option A (it’s the evil twin in me wanting instant gratification). Then again, I’ve already come this far; why not extend the challenge, right? We’ll have to wait a bit and see.

The pleasantest surprise in this project was how I didn’t have to make many adjustments to the original pattern. Unfortunately, I bungled up the collar bit because I wasn’t paying close enough attention, and of course I could rip everything out and do it right … but no! I shall save that for another day (a day I’m looking to punish myself, probably).

The jury’s still out on whether I like this blouse or not. On its own, I think it’s girly and sweet (good things in my books). On me, it’s just a little more matronly than I’d like. Maybe it all has something to do with that bungled-up collar. But being the optimist that I am, I shall try to make it work. Perhaps all it needs is some accessorising! (And buttons, of course.)

Leave a Reply

