Who’s afraid of Drawn Thread Embroidery?

29 September 2008 at 2:27 pm (Thoughts) ()

The Single Twist

The Single Twist (and multiple headaches)

Would you believe if I told you that I took about four hours to make that? I would like to see another person who can work slower than me!

I have to say this was probably the craziest thing I’ve tried yet. The removing of the horizontal threads from the fabric was a real killer. I realised later that I was doing it the turtley-slow way (which I reckon is even slower than the snaily-slow way). But of course, the faster method only presented itself upon the removal of the last thread.

Never mind. I forged on anyway, despite it being past midnight. I didn’t want to stop till I had made my first single twist. I switched on my big ol’ reading lamp — the one I use for night-time sewing, and set to work. Took me a good 10 minutes to figure out how the twisty things should be done. I had the instructions right in front of me, but somehow….  Working the needle from left to right was a really tricky maneouvre. I’m right-handed, so usually, I would stick the needle in from right to left. So, being asked to do a left to right was like trying to make my wrist do weird feats of acrobatics. Plus, the beauty of this type of embroidery is that you need to count threads as well. Six — no more, no less! It felt almost like I was being made to balance on my head while doing math (if you know me, you’ll know I can’t do math to save my life).

Never mind. I managed. After much twisting and turning (the embroidery hoop included), I finally figured out how to make the first single twist! Hooray! My determination was rewarded with success! But obsession has a nasty downside: that night, I dreamt about tugging horizontal threads from a piece of cloth, and it wasn’t exactly a sweet dream. I kept waking up, falling asleep to dream again about exactly the same thing again!

“How one suffers for one’s craft!” cries the newest member of the Sewing Turtles Anonymous Club (note: not related to the teenaged mutant ninja variety).

1 Comment

  1. Miss 376 said,

    Not a restful night then. I have always wanted to have a go at this, but I imagine it is nerve racking. Must have felt wonderful to have successfully formed the stitches. It can only get easier now

Leave a Reply

