Tag love! (And another chance to reminisce.)

28 October 2008 at 4:11 pm (Thoughts) (, , )

When I was in primary school, we used to play a game called “Catching.” It’s a game of tag, basically. I loved the adrenaline kick. We used to play during recess time and after school, while waiting for our ride home. My other favourite game was “Mother Hen.” The rules were simple. You needed at least 3 people to play, but by the end of the game, we usually ended up with more than 10. Anyone is able to join in the game at any time, even while the game was taking place. One person would be The Fox, the baddie. One person would be The Mother Hen. Everyone else would be Chicks. Chicks are supposed to hang on to each other in one long line behind Mother. The Fox would then try to catch Chicks by trying to run round Mother. The longer the line of Chicks, the harder it is for Mother to protect the ones hanging on for dear life at the end of the queue. Because Mother Hen and Chicks are less mobile than the wily lone Fox, there would be a lot of screaming and shrieking all round. It used to be so fun!

So, imagine my delight when I was tagged by the lovely Judy of Maccabags! Thanks, Judy, this brings back great childhood memories, and is another great way of spreading some link love (and improving your Technorati ranking!). So here are the rules of the game:

The Rules:

  • Link to your tagger and list these rules on your blog.
  • Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog – some random, some weird.
  • Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blog.
  • Let them know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Fact no. 1: I’m a cleanliness freak. I got this from my mother, who, when we were kids, would never let us touch anything because “it has germs.” She wiped us down probably 500 times during the course of a day, and to this day, I wash my hands after doing almost anything.

Fact no. 2: I was once butted by a cow. I was probably 10 at the time. I didn’t know the cow was charging towards me from behind, so it was a complete surprise when I felt something lift me up and deposit me into a pile of bovine manure.

Fact no. 3: My grandmother made me a stuffed toy/pillow when I was a baby. We named it Humpty Dumpty because it was shaped like an egg with arms and legs. I still have it.

Fact no. 4: I am utterly obsessed with Japan and its culture. I don’t really know why. I took a course in Japanese language when I was in university. Unfortunately, I came home, didn’t have anyone to practise Japanese with, and 10 years later, I’m back in class, learning everything all over again.

Fact no. 5: I love dance! I’ve done ballet, salsa, Argentine tango and bellydancing. But — I’m not into contemporary dance — don’t get it, and don’t enjoy watching it either.

Fact no. 6: I wasn’t born to be a musician. I played the piano till I was 17 but my heart was never really into it. I don’t even know why I took all those exams. I’ve also tried picking up the violin and the cello, but my hearing was apparently not good enough (bah).

Fact no. 7: I adore old things and traditional ways. I love learning how things are done in the old days. I often stare at old, decrepit buildings, imagining what it must have been like in its prime, and feeling sorry that no one has maintained them.

Seems to me like practically everyone has been tagged already, so if I’ve double-tagged you, don’t feel obliged to do this! Moving on now … I would like to tag these lovely people: Cassettee, Colors City, Futuregirl Craft Blog, Loopy Lou’s Adventures into Handicrafts, My Heart for Him, Neneth’s Knitting Corner, Sewmyname.

Leave a Reply

