Back to sewing, at long last

5 November 2008 at 5:00 pm (Thoughts) (, )

The beginnings of the humble curry puff

The beginnings of the humble curry puff

Oh, sewing, how I have missed thee!

I haven’t actually sewed anything on this yet, but I’ve cut out the fabric pieces, and that’s always half the battle won for me. Ah, it feels good! Even if I haven’t really thought this out properly. All I know is I want to make a curry puff applique. Possibly the first of a whole series of comfort food I grew up with. Oh, the possibilities.

But before all that, the curry puff first. I’m planning to wing it and get as quickly as possible to the sewing bit. You can probably see how serious I am about getting to the sewing bit fast; I didn’t even bother to iron the fabric first, even though it’s in a real state of crumpledness. Never mind! I just want to sew!

I’m in such a serious state of sewing withdrawal that when I saw the torn pocket on R’s school uniform, I fell on it immediately, brandishing my good ol’ hand-sewing needle. I could have done it in 5 seconds with the sewing machine but I wanted to do it the old-fashioned way. (Okay, I just wanted an excuse to sit down with a needle for 10 minutes.)

Hopefully, this weekend, I’ll get a lot more sewing done. *Rubbing hands in glee.*

Leave a Reply

