All the right ingredients, but no crochet magic

19 November 2008 at 3:27 pm (Crafted!) (, , )

Crocheted pencil cover with flower embellishment

Crocheted pencil cover with flower embellishment

Violins played when I saw the magic words: “Exact gauge is not important to this project.” And, get this, it’s a pencil cover embellished with a pretty little daffodil. Every element of this project was appealing in every sense — my love for crochet (minus gauge, of course), crocheted flowers, and stationery will come together to make The Perfect Project. Theoretically, this was a project after my own heart.

Unfortunately, there is no fairytale ending to this story. The flower was super easy to make, but the stem was a different story altogether. I could not decipher the instructions. It left me hanging, wondering what to do next. So I fiddled around with my yarn, sticking my crochet hook here & there, and finally ended up with something that looked sort of like the picture.

I’m not entirely happy with this project. The crocheted stem is not designed to be “portable” (so I can’t remove it and slip it onto another pencil) because all that’s holding it together is one row of single crochets. If I were to remove the crocheted stem from the pencil, it would unravel.

Cute, but not designed to last

Cute, but not designed to last

But perhaps it’s just that I did it incorrectly. Maybe I just don’t know enough crochet kung-fu!

To see the free tutorial over at Lion Brand’s website, click here.

1 Comment

  1. theriperadish said,

    That is too adorable! I’d be scared to use it 🙂

Leave a Reply

