Best tropical fruit ever (okay, second best)

25 November 2008 at 5:30 pm (Discovery) (, )

Pulasan, a tropical fruit new to this tropical girl

Pulasan, a tropical fruit new to this tropical girl

I can’t say I’m much of a fruit person. I like fruits, but it doesn’t occur to me too often to eat them. Maybe it’s all that tea fogging up my mind.

So, one day, our neighbour gave us a big bag full of these fruits. I had never seen them in my life. I learnt, for the first time, that these rambutan-looking fruits are called pulasan. My mum was excited to see them, and when I bit into one, I realised why. They were a thousand times better than rambutans (okay, maybe I’m biased; I don’t particularly love rambutans). I’m a mangosteen fan, and if mangosteens are at the top of my list, pulasan would come in a close second. Very close.

I can’t believe I lived all my life without ever having tasted a pulasan till the day our neighbour kindly gave us some. What kind of tropical girl does that make me?

Leave a Reply

