A whodunit sort of crocheted shopping bag

2 December 2008 at 2:48 pm (Thoughts) ()

Half a crocheted bag!

Only halfway through the mystery: the crocheted bag didn't quite feel like she knew her purpose in life and where she's heading just yet

I’ve been wanting to make a crocheted market bag for a while now. The other day, I saw a pattern for a crocheted market bag, and one of the directions was to read the entire pattern before starting. I wondered if that meant it was going to be tres complicated. Nope, I really don’t have the time for anything too complicated.

So, I decided the best way would be to play it by ear. Doing things freehand is so much more fun than counting stitches. Sure, I could make major mistakes, but there’s always a way to fix mistakes with crochet … (or so one hopes).

I started with a flat circle, and improvised from there. It’s looking all right so far. (I think!) At some point I’m going to have to start decreasing, else the bag will be very very round…. At this point in my crochet career, I’m still not sure what does what exactly. It’s all quite a mystery (except I’m no Hercule Poirot and I don’t know what’s really going on!). I guess worse come to worst, I can always frog the bag. (Noooo!)

Leave a Reply

