Twelve months of gestation: The mama bag

16 December 2008 at 6:34 pm (Crafted!) (, )

surprisingly successful

The mama bag: surprisingly successful

I’ve been meaning to make a mama bag for, oh, about a year now. Time and tide wait for no streamstress, and the mama for whom the bag was intended has been a mother for 8 months now! I kept putting it off because I didn’t have the confidence to make a bag that I felt would be useful to her. I finally threw caution to the wind, and decided to cut some cloth.

But, of course, before I actually did any cutting, I tortured myself for two whole days wondering what shape it should be. I looked at the previous bags I’d made and flipped the pages of my trusty Japanese craft books. None of them were exactly what I thought a mama bag had to be. It needed to be spacious but not unwieldy. It needed pockets galore. It needed to be unfussy because, with a wriggly baby on her hands, mama doesn’t need a complicated bag.

To cut a long story short, I took elements from several bag designs, added pockets wherever I could, and finally mustered enough gumption to use interfacing … et voila! Cute and functional. (I hope.)

It was my first time using interfacing on a bag, and I must say it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. It’s well worth the extra effort when the bag needs structure, to be able to stand up on its own.

I also experimented with some small magnets as a closure for the top of the bag. I would have used the regular magnetic clasps if I had any on hand, but I keep forgetting to look for them when I shop for notions. I really should go shopping with a list next time, instead of getting sidetracked looking at everything except the stuff I really need.

Leave a Reply

