Happy 2009, and a list of things to make

7 January 2009 at 8:13 pm (Sewing tutorials, Thoughts)

I ushered in the New Year with cake

I ushered in the new year with cake

I spent a lot of December 2008 baking. I’m not naturally a cook or a baker, but the urge struck, and so I baked. Prior to that, the last thing I remember baking was a banana cake for my home ec cooking exam. I was 17. A whole decade and a half later, I ushered in the new year with freshly baked cake, and it was very nice indeed.

Talking about nice things, I’m constantly being amazed by the amount of shared knowledge within the sewing and crafting community. There is such an abundance of good will and helpfulness. Everyone is so generous; the volume of freebies flying around from one blog to another is just astounding. People are sharing their intellectual property in a way I’ve never seen. It’s so inspiring, and I’m so glad to be a part of it.

I’d like to say a huge thank you to Ellen of thelongthread.com, who included one of my tutorials in her compilation of Top 100 tutorials of 2008. There are so many tempting projects on that list; I don’t even know where to start! 2009 looks very much like it’s going to be a really busy year indeed. I wish everyone out there a great year ahead. May your 2009 be blessed with good things and freshly baked goods.

Leave a Reply

