A life with dogs: Balance and sleep wanted.

19 January 2009 at 3:42 pm (Thoughts)

Daisy Dog, the Chinese acrobat

Daisy Dog, the Chinese acrobat

I’ve caught Daisy sleeping in this position a few times. I’m not sure how she finds it comfortable, but there you have it.

It was a particularly hot day, and you can tell by her face that she’s just totally knocked out.

I haven’t sewn anything in recent days because I’ve just been too busy learning how to cook for the dogs. Never have I come across dogs more fussy with their food. They would rather go hungry than eat something they don’t like. They were practically skin and bones on the expensive commercial dog food we used to feed them. They hated the dog food and I can’t say I blame them: I’ve always thought it smelled strongly of chemicals.

So it warms my heart to see that they appreciate my cooking. I’ve never seen them so excited to see their food bowls and I’ve certainly never seen them eat so heartily. The hard work is slowly paying off–we’re seeing meat on their bones at last, and they’re full of energy (except on hot days, as the photo would attest to).

Now, my task for this month is to find a balance between cooking, spending time with the dogs, sewing stuff and doing my Japanese homework.

10 Comments

  1. Jiawen said,

    your dogs are so lucky to have a in-house chef :p

    actually i had the same prob too, but i malas to cook. So instead, when the two rascaldoodles leave their food, i simply make a cup of coffee and bubuh a few teaspoonfuls in their food. the druggies LOVE it! tho the caffeine might not be such a good idea all the time πŸ˜‰

  2. Huey said,

    Aha! I’ve always been cooking for my dogs – since a few years back. If you are wondering about what to include or how, try this book by Dr Pitcairn, Complete Guide To Natural Health For Dogs And Cats. It’s my dog bible. lol. While he suggested raw food, I have to cook mine mainly because my dog doesn’t fancy raw food that much. But I still feed her raw beef. πŸ™‚

    Oh and I make pumpkin cookies for my dogs too. πŸ˜€

    Jiawen: Eh caffeine is toxic for dogs leh. -.-

  3. honeyanddaisy said,

    haha jiawen, funny la you! if i were to do that, i would have to do it every day, and surely they will mati kongkiau la….

    huey, thanks for the tip! fact is, i just bought a book from Amazon called The Healthy Dog Cookbook by Jonna Anne. it was written with a vet & canine nutritionist, so i figured it must be ok. i’m cooking very simple stuff for them based on what she said on her website. btw… how much time do you spend cooking for your dogs? do you cook every day?

  4. Kyoko said,

    That sleeping style is incredible! I am trying to think at which point daisy is twisted. What a sweet dog πŸ˜€
    It is wonderful that you cook for dogs. I bet their eyes must completely shine and open up when they see freshly cooked food on their bowls. I sometimes cook for my cats. Especially Wata who is not well. They like steamed chicken or cod.

  5. Jiawen said,

    oh crikeys! i didn’t know that! hmm… must look for alternative bribes then… milk would probably work?

  6. honeyanddaisy said,

    I read somewhere that some dogs are lactose intolerant and should avoid dairy products.

  7. Huey said,

    Jiawen: Erm milk, depending on dogs. Just like human, some people are allergic to some food. So far all my dogs have no problems with milk, in fact, they all love milk. πŸ™‚ But I seldom give them nowadays.

    Hey Juliana, I actually replied your email but not sure if you’ve received it. In case you don’t, here is what I said:

    Yeap I cook everyday. Erm… morning around 5-10 minutes, evening also around that amount of time. lol. Actually I think right, when you are used to the flow, the amount of time spent will be lesser and lesser, coz it’s just a routine thingy. πŸ™‚

    Hehe.

  8. *s* said,

    you’re gonna have to add ‘cat’ now to your balancing act! πŸ™‚

  9. Tracy said,

    My dog sleeps with her belly up, back legs stretch up against the wall…if you know what I’m trying to describe LOL

    About the food, we used to have problem getting her to eat canned dog food. Then we realised that it wasn’t because of the taste, she just didn’t like it straight from the can and cold. So warming it up instantly solved the problem. I don’t think dogs should ever be given raw meat, EWE!!! Her favourite food is fried egg with runny yolk a.k.a mata kerbau, practically dances in circles when she sees me serving πŸ˜›

  10. Daisy, the little sorceress « Honey & Daisy : sewing and other lovely things said,

    […] quite different in temperament and even physically. Daisy has longer, silkier fur. Very flexible (check out this sleeping pose). Loves body contact; she’s always up for a belly rub. I think her favourite moment of the […]

Leave a Reply

