Belling the cat

2 March 2009 at 3:39 pm (Crafted!) ()

A crocheted collar for the cat

For panic-attack prevention, one needs a bell and cat collar

After a couple of panic attacks when I turned around for just a second and then couldn’t find Pomme, I decided a bell would be in order. I didn’t like any of the collars in the shops (why do they have to be soooo colourful and soooo expensive?) so I crocheted one with some string I had at home. I would have liked to include the snap-on fasteners that usually come with pet collars, but I didn’t want to wait anymore, so I came up with this Chinese-button-inspired fastener instead. I like that it doesn’t easily come undone, and yet fastens/unfastens quickly and easily — before my fiddling with the collar annoys the cat!

How will I get up to mischief now, with this ringing thing around my neck?

Testing Pomme with bell on a piece of string

Before I put on the crocheted collar, I wanted to see what she would do if I tied the bell to her. I used a piece of string … and she got straight to work. At first, she tried to lick the bell. Then the excess string behind her neck came into her view and so she tried pouncing on it. Failing both activities, she decided to chase her own tail instead.

She seems to me quite used to the bell now. Happily, my crocheted collar is holding up very well!

4 Comments

  1. *s* said,

    congratulations! my C is terrible of having a bell on her – she goes berserk and tears all over the house and top speed OR cowers in some dark corner, too afraid to move in case the bell makes a sound!

    but she is ok with bells on the other cats. go figure.

    so C just has a bright pink collar on her. no bell. i think it goes with her nature of being a black cat who can sneak around noiselessly!

  2. Jaina said,

    Your cat and dogs are so cute. 🙂

  3. honeyanddaisy said,

    Thanks so much! I love them to bits … they are such joy to have around. 🙂

  4. inkypots said,

    I agree with you on the pet shop collars. My dogs wouldn’t appreciate the bling, and the poke style ones would be treacherous for the humans around. And at that price, I could get 3 chew toys, which is the common fate of ALL my doggy collars. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

