19 March 2009 at 3:45 pm (Crafted!) ()

Not sure how I feel about this cushion

Most times, I make something and I love the result, even if it’s a little (or a lot) imperfect. This time, I’m not so sure. It’s got a lot to do with the fabric, I know. It seemed like a great buy at the time … in the shop, I liked the burnished gold of the florals and the retro-ness of it all. Back home, I started finding fault with everything about it. And so it languished in the back of my cupboard.

Enter the a supercheap Ikea mini cushion. I figured my cat might like to have something to plonk down on. Out came the ill-favoured fabric. Thirty minutes later, the cat cushion was done. The elation of having finished another quick project blew over, and I realised I actually felt sort of ho-hum about it.

If I have the time, I’ll go in search of something that brings out whatever beauty I initially saw in this fabric — that’s probably the only way I’ll be able to make use of this eeky orange thing. Else it shall have to be relegated to some other menial task, like being made into apron ties or something.

Well, lesson is well learnt: one should be more careful in one’s fabric selections.

3 Comments

  1. inkypots said,

    i have a suggestion… a cheongsam! vavavoomah!

  2. honeyanddaisy said,

    haha! i only have less than a metre of this thing left … and it’s gone back to the depths of the cupboard. 🙂

  3. Huey said,

    It looks OK for me from the photo though. 😛

    Anyway, dropping by to let you know that I’ve given an award to you on my blog. Feel free to grab it from my blog and then give it to 7 other bloggers whom you think are also KREATIV. 🙂

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

