What shall I do with this yoga mat? (Other than make a nice bag for it.)

30 March 2009 at 4:45 pm (Crafted!, Thoughts)

A bright bag for the yoga mat

A bright bag for the yoga mat

When I recently signed up for some belly-dance workshops, I saw that I needed to bring a yoga mat with me. I don’t own a yoga mat. I deliberated on what to do for about a week.

Should I buy a yoga mat, which I may never use again?

It was a very silly question to ask, of course, because if a yoga mat was on the list of “things to bring,” obviously I needed to bring one. Also, I’m the sort who bruises easily, so taking my chances on the bare floor was not an option.

Luckily, I found a good mat at 1/2 price. I didn’t even have to look very hard. Joy! But it didn’t come with a bag, so I made one with the bright red Ikea fabric I bought a couple of months ago. At first I thought the fabric was just a little too sturdy for a yoga mat, but now that I’ve used it, I think it’s perfect. It’s a linen/cotton blend, and thick enough to upholster a chair, which was why I thought it may have been too much at first. But it turns out my yoga mat is a little on the heavy side, so a thinner fabric might suffer more wear and tear in a shorter period of time. (I make it sound like I’m going to be using this yoga mat a lot. Haha.)

Maybe I should try yoga classes and see how I like it. Not being a very flexible person, I’ve always dreaded any kind of stretching exercise. I know it will help me be a better dancer. And now that I have a nice, brand-new yoga mat….

6 Comments

  1. Huey said,

    Ah very nice!

    I bought a yoga mat about 2 yrs ago and only used… less than 10 times. LOL!

  2. inkypots said,

    liking the bag very very much 🙂

    As for what else to dow ith it…. the yoga mat is a versatile piece of foam. One has cut it into half as padding for doggies when sleeping at night in box, to have said doggies misinterpret new object as chew toy. Suffice to say, no more yoga mats will be donated to chewing dogs. Perhaps your dogs are more respectful of human-given product?

  3. honeyanddaisy said,

    Haha, Huey, I’ll probably be joining your gang then!

    Jiawen – respectful is not in their vocabulary, so one shall not be cutting up an expensive yoga mat for them, no matter how cute their faces are.

  4. *s* said,

    me & yoga just dont ngam. i think i hv TWO yoga mats lying around cos my mom and me attempted it together some years ago; she ended up hurting her spine and i pulled a muscle hahahah!

    still, it’s a lovely bag. i guess you could use it to usung some other stuff around later on. 🙂

  5. Kyoko said,

    The bag is so lovely!
    Gosh, I tried to Yoga so many times and totally failed it. I am very inflexible when it comes to exercise. Years ago I bought the most basic Yoga video and used it twice. It was really refreshing but somehow I just could not carry on. We have a yoga mat at home because Wesley bought a Wii fit and It came with it (I think!).
    I am now thinking of doing Wii Yoga! Hope you have a great weekend 😀
    BTW, I am doing a knitting book giveaway. Do please drop a message so that I can count you in for the draw! 😀

  6. honeyanddaisy said,

    Thanks for the compliment, Kyoko! Wii Yoga sounds like fun. Wii anything sounds like fun, actually! 🙂 Thanks for letting me know about the knitting book giveaway … I wish I could enter, but … I don’t know how to knit yet so I don’t have a link to share. Boo hoo!

Leave a Reply

