Maiden zippered pouch: I ROCK!

26 August 2009 at 4:37 pm (Crafted!) ()

Zippered pouch

I bought zippers some months ago (okay, maybe it was a year ago), thinking I’d make some zippered things — not caring, of course, that I didn’t have a zipper foot for my sewing machine.

Well, I finally bought a zipper foot (found it by chance at the local supermarket!).

My very first attempt at making something zippered had to be tutorial-led, so I decided on a zippered pouch, which seemed like a good maiden zipper project. I didn’t even have to measure anything. I just cut the fabrics to the size of the zipper, and thought, “This is going to be super easy.”

Super easy, my foot.

I had to use my seam ripper no less than 6 times, and that was just for the very first step of the process.

Forty-five minutes later (huff & puff), it was finished. I must say I’m pretty pleased with the results.

So now my whiteboard markers, scissors, and other teacherly paraphernalia, which have been banging around the bottom of my bag for the past 2 months, have a home.

Hooray! (Double hooray for this being my first sewing project in MONTHS!)

Leave a Reply

